Alter Bridge With An Orchestra Live In London

Recorded over the course of two sold-out shows at London’s legendary Royal Albert Hall back in October of 2017, hard rock mainstays Alter Bridge have released their latest live album, out September 7, aptly titled Live At The Royal Albert Hall, through Napalm Records. And although it’s not the first recording of its kind for the Orlando, Florida-bred quartet, this one has a unique hook, in the form of a few extra backing musicians – 52 of them, to be exact.

Alter Bridge in Royal Albert Hall (L to R): Myles Kennedy, Brian Marshall, Mark Tremonti, and Scott Phillips (Photo: Christian Barz)

The Parallax Orchestra, led by conductor Simon Dobson, joined the band for the extra-special performances, adding another dimension to the already-talented act, created from the ashes of the late 1990s/early 2000s post-grunge group Creed. Surprisingly, founder and lead guitarist Mark Tremonti, drummer Scott Phillips, and bassist Brian Marshall, were completely in their element playing with the majestic ensemble, and the result was a symphonic explosion of grandiose harmonies and melodies. At the forefront was powerhouse lead singer Myles Kennedy, currently best known for his work with Slash in Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators, whose hypnotic vocals stunningly came to life layered with the classically trained players.

The set consists of an auspicious mix of hits and rarities spanning all five of the band’s studio discs, from their blazing debut effort, One Day Remains (“Open Your Eyes,” “Broken Wings“) all the way to their last offering, 2016’s The Last Hero (“This Side Of Fate,” “The Writing On The Wall“).

Live At The Royal Albert Hall, out September 7

Particular standouts include “Ghost Of Days Gone By,” as its bombastic nature braided beautifully in the orchestral setting, “Before Tomorrow Comes,” which especially accentuated Kennedy’s unmistakable pipes, and the lengthy “Blackbird,” perhaps the group’s most challenging piece, with epic dual solos by Tremonti and Kennedy acting as a perfect complement to the instrumental bliss executed by the dozens of guest virtuosos.

Available in a plethora of formats, including CD, Vinyl, Blu-Ray, and DVD, ardent fans would be advised to grab one of the visual configurations, as they include bonus content – most notably an exclusive behind-the-scenes documentary featuring interviews with everyone involved on how this ambitious project came to fruition.

Live At The Royal Albert Hall track listing:

  1. Slip To The Void
  2. Addicted To Pain
  3. Before Tomorrow Comes
  4. The Writing On The Wall
  5. Cry Of Achilles
  6. In Loving Memory
  7. Fortress
  8. Ties That Bind
  9. The Other Side
  10. Brand New Start
  11. Ghost Of Days Gone By
  12. The Last Hero
  13. The End Is Here
  14. Words Darker Than Their Wings
  15. Waters Rising
  16. Lover
  17. Wonderful Life/Watch Over You
  18. This Side Of Fate
  19. Broken Wings
  20. Blackbird
  21. Open Your Eyes

Click here to purchase Live At The Royal Albert Hall.