CD Review Metal Music Vinyl Vinyl

Guns N’ Roses Unveil Rarities in Deluxe ‘Appetite For Destruction’ Box Set

Guns N’ Roses, 1987. (Photo: Ross Halfin)

Guns N’ Roses are commemorating their 1987 debut with Appetite For Destruction: Locked N’ Loaded Edition, a box set full of unreleased demos, remastered B-sides, collectibles and more, available June 29.

Covered in faux fur, the lavish 12x12x12-inch box set is crafted of solid wood and features a hand-sculpted, hand-painted 3D Appetite For Destruction cross on the front doors. Available for a limited run, only 10,000 box sets will be available worldwide for a hefty $1,299 (preorder available for $999).

Housed inside the box set are 73 tracks (49 of which were never released) on four CDs, including the full Appetite album remastered from original analog tapes, unreleased demos from the band’s 1986 Sound City recording session and two unreleased tracks from recording sessions with Appetite producer Mike Clink, including “Shadow Of Your Love,” recorded December 1986, and a 1988 acoustic version of “Move To The City” from the GN’R Lies sessions.

Also in box are 12 remastered tracks from EPs and B-sides, including early recordings of hit “November Rain,” originally penned as a ballad for Appetite but later featured on 1991’s Use Your Illusion 1 — “Back Off Bitch”, “You Could Be Mine” and “Don’t Crywere also cut from Appetite — in addition to covers of Elvis Presley’s “Heartbreak Hotel,” Aerosmith’s “Mama Kin,” electric and acoustic recordings of the Rolling Stones’ “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” and two tracks that were never completed, “The Plague” and “New Work Tune.”

Additional highlights of Locked N’ Loaded are a 96-page, hardbound book featuring unreleased photos from Axl Rose’s archives, 12×12-inch lithos of new illustrations for each Appetite track, five custom metal-cast band skull face rings, buttons with various band logos, five hand-sculpted skull face lapels, a replica of the band’s first stage banner from their 1985/1986 club shows, a bandana, a two-inch collector’s coin, two 24×36-inch posters, a 12×24-inch Robert Williams litho and five other never-before-seen band lithos, six replica gig flyers, including a “Welcome To The Jungle” video invite flyer originally drawn by Slash, three replica classic ticket stubs, two temporary tattoo sheets featuring some of the band members’ actual tats, six iron-on patches, five metal-stamped guitar picks, a turntable mat, a microfiber cleaning cloth, a seven-inch adapter and a metal-cast USB stick with audio formats from all four CDs.

A Blu-ray audio disc contains the 12 tracks recently produced by Elliot Scheiner (Foo Fighters, Aerosmith) with five additional bonus tracks mixed by Scheiner and Frank Filipetti (Billy Joel, Elton John). The Blu-ray also includes four music videos (“Welcome To The Jungle,” “Sweet Child O’ Mine,” “Paradise City” and “Patience”) with a brand-new video for “It’s So Easy,” which was originally shot in 1989 but never finished.

The box set also features seven 12-inch LPs, including two for the full album, which runs on three sides for maximum audio fidelity (fourth side features a vinyl Hologroove Hologram of the band’s logo), in addition to the Live ?!*@ Like a Suicide EP with extra track “Shadow Of Your Love” (1 LP), B-Sides N’ EPs (1 LP) and the 1986 Sound City Session N’ More (3 LPs). Additionally, there are six seven-inch singles LPs (“It’s So Easy”/“Mr. Brownstone,” “Welcome To The Jungle”/“Whole Lotta Rosie – Live,” “Sweet Child O’ Mine”/“Out Ta Get Me,” “Paradise City”/“Used To Love Her,” “Patience”/“Rocket Queen,” and “Nightrain”/“Reckless Life”); an additional seven-inch yellow vinyl of “Shadow Of Your Love”/“Move To The City (1988 Acoustic Version)” is also included.

Guns N’ Roses are also set to embark on a European tour this summer with more dates announced for fall.

Preorder the Appetite For Destruction: Locked N’ Loaded Edition here

Disc One (Appetite For Destruction)

1. Welcome To The Jungle
2. It’s So Easy
3. Nightrain
4. Out Ta Get Me
5. Mr. Brownstone
6. Paradise City
7. My Michelle
8. Think About You
9. Sweet Child O’ Mine
10. You’re Crazy
11. Anything Goes
12. Rocket Queen

Disc Two (B-sides N’ EPs)

1. Reckless Life
2. Nice Boys
3. Move To The City (Live)
4. Mama Kin
5. Shadow Of Your Love (Live)
6. You’re Crazy (Acoustic Version)
7. Patience
8. Used To Love Her
9. You’re Crazy
10. It’s So Easy (Live)
11. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (Live)
12. Whole Lotta Rosie (Live)

Disc Three (1986 Sound City Session)

1. Welcome To The Jungle (1986 Sound City Session)
2. Nightrain (1986 Sound City Session)
3. Out Ta Get Me (1986 Sound City Session)
4. Paradise City (1986 Sound City Session)
5. My Michelle (1986 Sound City Session)
6. Think About You (1986 Sound City Session)
7. You’re Crazy (1986 Sound City Session)
8. Anything Goes (1986 Sound City Session)
9. Rocket Queen (1986 Sound City Session)
10. Shadow Of Your Love (1986 Sound City Session)
11. Heartbreak Hotel (1986 Sound City Session)
12. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (1986 Sound City Session)

Disc Four (1986 Sound City Session N’ More)

1. Shadow Of Your Love
2. Move To The City (1986 Sound City Session)
3. Ain’t Goin’ Down No More (Instrumental Version – 1986 Sound City Session)
4. The Plague (1986 Sound City Session)
5. Nice Boys (1986 Sound City Session)
6. Back Off Bitch (1986 Sound City Session)
7. Reckless Life (1986 Sound City Session)
8. Mama Kin (1986 Sound City Session)
9. New Work Tune (1986 Sound City Session)
10. November Rain (Piano Version – 1986 Sound City Session)
11. Move To The City (Acoustic Version – 1986 Sound City Session)
12. You’re Crazy (Acoustic Version – 1986 Sound City Session)
13. November Rain (Acoustic Version – 1986 Sound City Session)
14. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Acoustic Version- 1986 Sound City Session)
15. Move To The City (1988 Acoustic Version)

Blu-Ray Audio

1. Welcome To The Jungle
2. It’s So Easy
3. Nightrain
4. Out Ta Get Me
5. Mr. Brownstone
6. Paradise City
7. My Michelle
8. Think About You
9. Sweet Child O’ Mine
10. You’re Crazy
11. Anything Goes
12. Rocket Queen

Bonus Tracks

1. Shadow Of Your Love
2. Patience
3. Used To Love Her
4. You’re Crazy
5. Move To The City (1988 Acoustic Version)


1. Welcome To The Jungle
2. Sweet Child O’ Mine
3. Paradise City
4. Patience
5. It’s So Easy (Unreleased 1989 Video)

By Tina Benitez-Eves

A Royal Flush vet, Tina started writing for the magazine in 2003. Her work has appeared in Men’s Journal, Wine Spectator, and more.